Montana Ag Summit 2017

Tentative Program Overview

at the Montana ExpoPark Pacific Steel & Recycling Arena


Wednesday, May 31, 2017

4 – 6 PM
U.S. Senator Steve Daines Welcome Reception

Thursday, June 1, 2017

6:30 AM Registration Opens

6:45 AM – 7:45 AM     Networking Breakfast

8:00AM          U.S. Senator Steve Daines – Welcome

  • Posting the Colors, Electric City FFA Chapter
  • National Anthem
  • Invocation

8:15 AM         Tribute to the Late Honorable Senator Conrad Burns and First Award Ceremony

8:30 AM         Phil DiPofi, President & CEO, Northwest Farm Credit Services

                         Supporting the Next Generation of Farmers and Ranchers

9:00 AM         Panel: International Opportunities and Success Stories

Moderated by: Catherine Boudreau, Politico

  • Matt Gibson, Vice President & General Manager, Bunge
  • Michelle Erickson Jones, Vice President, Montana Grain Growers Association
  • Kyle Koschmeder, General Manager, CHS Cut Bank
  • Tim McGreevy, CEO, U.S. Dry Pea and Lentil Council &
  • American Pulse Association
  • Kent Bacus, Director of International Trade & Market Access, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association

10:00 AM      Chairman Pat Roberts, United States Senate Committee  on Agriculture, Nutrition, & Forestry

10:20 AM      Panel: Innovative Ag Operations and Businesses

Moderated by: Nicole Rolf, Montana Farm Bureau Federation

  • Bob Quinn, President, Quinn Farm and Ranch & Kamut International
  • John Helle, Rancher, Helle Livestock & Duckworth Wool
  • Jim Fryer, BosTerra
  • Ken Walsh, Ruby Valley Bank
  • Jill Streit, CFO & Co-Owner, Stricks Ag
  • Ethan Heverly, Director of Government & Community Relations, Montana State Fund

11:20 AM       Secretary Sonny Perdue, United States Department of Agriculture

11:45 AM       Lunch

12:15 PM       J. Christopher Giancarlo, Acting Chairman, U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission

                       Taming Volatility in the Future of Commodity Markets

12:45 PM      Panel: Future of Agriculture

Moderated by: Taylor Brown, Northern Ag Network

  • Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue
  • Senator Pat Roberts, Chairman, United States Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, & Forestry
  • Senator Steve Daines

1:30 PM         Juan Ramón Alaix, CEO, Zoetis

                       Innovation for Livestock Productivity

2:00 PM         Panel:  Next Generation of Farmers and Ranchers

Moderated by: Lane Nordlund, Nordlund Communications

  • Sheridan Johnson, President, Montana Future Farmers of America
  • Verna Billedeaux, Extension Agent, Montana State University –
  • Federally Recognized Tribes Extension Program – Blackfeet Reservation
  • Amber Roberts, Ambassador, Montana State University College of Agriculture
  • Paul Kanning, Owner, Tom Tilda Farms & Montana Farmers Union Member

3:00 PM         Augusto Bassanini, President & CEO, United Grain Inc.

                        International Grain Trade, Vital to Montana Ag

3:30 PM       Keith T. McGovern, CEO, R.D. Offutt Company (RDO)

                        The Future of Ag: Technology and Business Transition

3:45 PM        Panel: Looking Towards the Future: Developments in Ag Research  and High Tech Ag

Moderated by: Julianne Dellorso, KRTV

  • Hikmet Budak, Professor & Montana Plant Science Endowed Chair, Montana State University
  • Jeff Laszlo, Managing Partner of Granger Ranches &
  • Chairman of Western Landowners Alliance
  • Darrin L. Boss, Superintendent, Northern Agricultural
  • Research Center, Montana State University
  • Chuck Merja, Farmer & Robotics Mentor
  • Lorin DeBonte, Assistant Vice President of R&D, Cargill, Incorporated
  • Ervin Schlemmer, President, Schlemmer Farms Inc.

4:50 PM        U.S. Senator Steve Daines

  • Retiring the Colors, Cascade FFA Chapter
  • Closing Remarks

5:00 PM         Conclude